Ritual Confessions

January 30, 2008

NaNoWriMo

Filed under: Uncategorized — elissakaren @ 5:09 am

Throughout this past year, as I’ve become acquainted with the blogosphere, I’ve seen the curious word NaNoWriMo floating around and vaguely wondered what it was. Something made me look it up today, and for those who don’t already know, it’s an annual event wherein participants write an entire novel of 50,000 words, or 175 pages, within the month of November.

I found the idea powerfully appealing, for many reasons. First, it encourages folks to write badly, urges us to write badly, in the service of writing at all. So often, the self-imposed pressure to produce great art inhibits us from producing anything. I’m a real believer (theoretically) in spilling onto the page and cleaning up later. In practice, I find this very difficult to do. The commitment, however, to churning out a novel within thirty days’ time would leave me no real choice but to write a ghastly first draft.

Second, I love instant gratification as much as the next person. The idea of being able to write a book in a month (even a bad one) is very seductive.

As November is far away, I began toying with the idea of adapting the concept for, say, February. Of course, I’d be sacrificing the communal aspect of the whole thing, but maybe I’d be accomplishing something worthwhile as I’m seeking employment. I also wondered about the idea of using this blog as the context for it. My public resolution has indeed motivated me to post nightly even when tired, uninspired, and/or at a loss for what to write. Maybe I could write a page or two (or six) of fiction a day, a la Scheherazade, and post it here.

Anyway, I’m just thinking about it for now. None of this is yet a resolution. Contributing to this site every day has been very effective for me, and I don’t want to ruin it by turning it into something I won’t keep up.

1 Comment »

  1. Start a new blog page for it, and see if you can get others to join you. That way you can keep this one the way it is.

    Heck I might give it a shot. 🙂

    Comment by Shawn W — January 31, 2008 @ 2:05 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

